Suvidha Care

Tuberculosis Treatment in India

Caused by bacteria called mycobacterium, tuberculosis is a common infectious disease that affects the lungs. It is characterized by a severe cough that lasts for weeks, discolored or bloody sputum, fatigue, fever, night sweats and weakness. Other symptoms of tuberculosis include pain when breathing or coughing, pain in the chest as well as loss of appetite. There are many hospitals across the globe where you can get treatment for tuberculosis. However many patients are increasingly getting tuberculosis treatment in India making the country one of the best destinations for the disease treatment in the world.

Guidelines for tuberculosis treatment in India

 The government through “Standards for TB care in India” has clearly set up proper guidelines on how the disease should be treated. Published in 2014, the guidelines stipulate how TB treatment in India should be provided for all the categories of patients including those falling in special categories such as TB and HIV co-infections. It is, therefore, important to know the type of categories of patients that seek tuberculosis treatment in India.

Categories of tuberculosis Patients

There are five main categories of patients that seek tuberculosis treatment in India. These categories include the following;

  • Category 1. These are patients that are seeking tuberculosis treatment in India for the very first time. These are new patients that have never had treatment before.
  • Category 2. These are patients that have received treatment before.
  • Category 4. This includes patients that require MDR TB treatments (Management of Drug Resistant TB).
  • Category 5. These are patients that require treatment for XDR TB (Extensive Drug Resistant TB).

It is worth noting that tuberculosis treatment in India does not contain treatment category 3 going with the current treatment methods in the country.

Treatment regimens in India

All new patients seeking treatment for TB in India are treated using an internally recognized regimen for new patients. The patient in the first phase of this regimen is treated for two months using Isoniazid (H), Rifampicin (R), Pyrazinamide (Z) and Ethambutol (E) drugs. In the subsequent phase, the patient is treated with three drugs for at least four months- Isoniazid, Rifampicin and Ethambutol. This regimen is professionally written as 2HREZ/4-6HRE. In special circumstances, the second phase may be extended for additional three to six months depending on prevailing medical situation of the patient.

Previously treated patients must first be cleared using professional tests. These patients are examined if they are returning patients that have been lost for follow up if they are on a relapse or they are new patients but failing in their first course of treatment. If this if any of these is the case, they are offered professional doctors that add streptomycin to their treatment regimen or decide the best options for tuberculosis treatment in the country.

It is therefore quite clear that seeking tuberculosis treatment in India should be one of the best decisions to make for your health. If you are suffering from tuberculosis or experiencing symptoms of tuberculosis, the best thing to do is to seek medical attention in any of the best hospitals in India.

Save up to 80% on the treatment cost, without compromising on quality